After deactivating and uninstalling a SharePoint 2010 solution, I got an error message.
The result: the solution was removed, but the feature was still there. When I installed and activated the solution again, there were two of features with the same name. So, I could not remove the feature by reinstall/de-install of the solution.
I used the Feature Admin Tool to find the left over feature and removed it.
You can find the tool : (Both 2007 and 2010)
BTW: it is also advised by SharePoint Joel ! and I’ll now add this to my SharePoint tool belt.